New Year’s Resolution…a Little Late

Post 11 of 104

How many times have you made a New year’s resolution saying to yourself, “All right, I’ll do it this year” ? Well, for me, that was a habit I was beginning to form. Every year I would tell myself that I would exercise more or get in shape and yet I still didn’t. When driving to work this morning I heard a song on my bridge radio (95.1fm, Lincoln or 92.7fm, Omaha) that talked about living like today could be my last day. And that song inspired me to start living like today isn’t just another day. So, from now on I am going to do my best to follow through with my promises both to myself and to others. So here’s to day one.

so, today was the first day of my new effort to work out after work on a regular basis. I mean why not? I don’t hate working out and it’s good for me. Also I have a free gym as a part of my apartment (well, not really free but that’s besides the point). I have been wanting to work out on a regular basis ever since I graduated from high school, but ‘never really had the time’ (I was being lazy). even though I didn’t work out very long or push myself very hard, it felt good.

For today, I started out with just two of the many machines the gym has to offer: the incline and the rower. Both machines are great and present unique challenges. I started with the incline so that I could warm up while doing part of my workout. (On a personal note I probably should have stretched before jumping into my workout…woops) I definitely prefer the incline over a treadmill because it feels more like going on a run outside to me (Considering the specific workout I did varies between hill angles and speeds throughout the workout). I completed a 30 minute workout on the first level (which was definitely enough for just starting out for me).

The second machine I used was the rower and that thing is awesome! I was able to work out several muscle groups at the same time. I don’t have a lot of upper body strength so this was a great way to start working out those muscles. I really liked how this unit also had a water feature. Every time you would do a row this feature would make it sound almost as if you were actually rowing a boat on a lake. That was definitely a good choice for me since I like anything that makes my workout seem like less of a chore. After that I did some various stretches and walked around a bit to cool down.

Anyways that’s all for today’s workout. 😛

What are some resolutions or promises you have been inspired to uphold with more diligence?

One thought on “New Year’s Resolution…a Little Late

  1. Good for you! Working out becomes addictive!I’m not one for resolutions, the word sounds so negative to me!! I like life changes or life choices better!

    Like

Leave a comment